Looking to start your business in the state of Oklahoma? You will need a step-by-step guide to help you familiarize yourself with state-specific requirements, the process of obtaining your business license, the main expenses needed to run your business in Ok, and more.
Do you already have an original business plan and want to bring it into reality? Good news! Oklahoma is a great choice to start your business as it has the 6-th lowest tax burden and 4-th lowest cost of living in the USA.
Oklahoma doesn’t offer a general license to own or operate your business. However, depending on the structure of your business you may need to register it and get all the necessary licenses or permits. For instance, LLCs, partnerships, sole proprietorships, and corporations must be registered with the Oklahoma Secretary of State to run their business.
Prior to the licensing process, there are several steps you must complete to obtain your business license. These steps are as follows:
Once you carry out the outlined steps and obtain all the needed documents or materials you will be able to apply for a business license.
If your business structure is LLC, e.g., you pay 100$ for a filing fee. To form your LLC business in Oklahoma you must file the Articles of Organization by downloading and completing the form and sending one copy to the following address:
Oklahoma Secretary of State
421 N.W. 13th, Suite 210
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73103
You also need to pay the registration fee of the sales tax permit costing $20 plus $10 for each additional business location.
In Oklahoma, there is no general business license required to run your business. However, several types of businesses or occupations demand licenses or permits on a state or local level. If the nature of your business falls under the following categories you need to obtain a state-issued business license:
Apart from state-issued or professional business licenses, most of licensing process is handled through the local government of each city/county in Oklahoma. For instance, if you sell alcoholic beverages in Tulsa, Ok you must apply for a certificate of compliance as a part of the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement application. To issue a certificate of compliance you will need to provide the following documents: